Friday, June 19, 2020

Achievers University Included In The List of Tertiary Institutions Approved For Postgraduate Programmes

Not all Nigerian universities approved for post-graduate programmes, NUC warns, listing those approved. The National Universities Commission (NUC) has updated the list of approved post-graduate awarding institutions in Nigeria.

The commission said it observed that some Nigerian universities are running unapproved postgraduate programmes, leading to the award of Masters and PhD degrees.

“The commission has also observed some parastatals and institutes awarding these same postgraduate degrees, either on their own or through unapproved affiliation with Nigerian and foreign universities,” it said.

According to the commission, such practices are not only unethical, “but also antithetical to time -tested quality assurance best practices”.

“The commission hereby notifies the general public that only the following universities have the approval to offer post-graduate programmes at the Masters’ and PhD levels in Nigeria.”

A bulletin from the office of the Executive Secretary dated March 23 contains the list of federal, state and private universities currently allowed to issue such certificates to students in Nigeria.

The bulletin was released a few days after the government ordered the closure of all schools in Nigeria due to the coronavirus outbreak.

As of 2018, Nigeria had 162 universities: 41 are federal, 47 are state-owned while 74 are privately owned institutions.

Out of the 41 federal universities across the country, 26 are approved by the commission for post-graduate programmes, 25 state universities were approved for post-graduate programmes out of the 47 state-owned universities in the country while 18 universities out of 74 private universities were approved for post-graduate studies.

But in the March 2020 bulletin which was obtained by PREMIUM TIMES on Tuesday, more universities have been granted approval by the commission for post-graduate programmes. Currently, Nigeria has 170 universities, 43 are federal, 48 are state-owned while 79 are privately owned.

Out of the 43 federal universities, 32 are approved by the commission for postgraduate programmes. 

They are
  • Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi
  • Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
  • Bayero University, Kano
  • Federal University of Technology, Akure
  • Federal University of Technology, Minna
  • Federal University of Technology, Owerri
  • Micheal Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike
  • Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola
  • National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos
  • Nigeria Defence Academy, Kaduna
  • Nnamdi Azikwe University, Akwa
  • Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife
  • University of Abuja, Gwagwalada
  • University of Agriculture, Abeokuta
  • University of Agriculture, Makurdi
  • University of Benin, Benin City
  • University of Calabar, Calabar
  • University of Ibadan, Ibadan
  • University of Ilorin, Ilorin
  • University of Jos, Jos
  • University of Lagos, Akoko
  • University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri
  • University of Nigeria, Nsukka
  • University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt
  • University of Uyo, Uyo
  • Usmanu Dan Fodio University, Sokoto
  • Federal University, Lafia
  • Federal University, Ndufu-alike
  • Federal University, Dutse
  • Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurum
  • Federal University, Oye- Ekiti
  • Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna
Similarly, 31 state universities were approved by the commission for post-graduate programmes out of the 48 state-owned universities in the country.
The approved universities are :

  • Abia State University, Uturu
  • Adamawa State University, Mubi
  • Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko
  • Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
  • Anambra University, Uli
  • Benue State University, Makurdi
  • Cross River University of Technology, Calabar
  • Delta State University, Abraka
  • Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
  • Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti
  • Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu
  • Imo State University, Owerri
  • Kogi State University, Anyigba
  • Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso
  • Lagos State University, Ojo
  • Nasarawa State University, Keffi
  • Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye
  • Rivers State University of Science and Technology
  • Umar Musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina
  • Gombe State University, Gombe
  • Ibrahim Babangida University, Lapai
  • Kano State University of Science and Technology
  • Kebbi State University of Science and Technology
  • Kwara State University, Malete
  • Kaduna State University, Kaduna
  • Bauchi State University, Gadau
  • Yobe State University, Damaturu
  • Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Rumuolumeni
  • Tai Solarin University of Education
  • Osun State University, Osogbo
Meanwhile, only 31 universities out of 79 private universities were approved for post-graduate studies. 

The 18 institutions are:

  • African University of Science and Technology, Abuja
  • American University of Nigeria, Yola
  • Babcock University, Ilishan Remo
  • Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
  • Bowen University, Iwo
  • Covenant University, Ota
  • Igbiniedo University, Okada
  • Pan-African University, Lekki
  • Redeemer’s University, Mowe, Ogun State
  • Caleb University, Lagos
  • Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji
  • Nigerian Turkish Nile University, Abuja
  • Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State
  • Lead City University, Ibadan (MSc. Only)
  • University of Mkar, Mkar (MSc. Only)
  • Madona University, Okija
  • Al-hikmah University, Ilorin (MSc. Only)
  • Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike, Enugu State.
  • Adeleke University, Ede
  • Veritas University, Abuja
  • Achievers University, Owo
  • Al-Qalam University, Katsina
  • Baze University, Abuja
  • Bells University of Technology, Ota
  • Crawford University, Igbesa
  • Crescent University, Abeokuta
  • Fountain University, Osogbo
  • Landmark University, Omu-Aran
  • Novena University, Ogume
  • Salem University, Lokoja.
  • Bingham University, Karu
“Employers of labour, educational institutions and other stakeholders are to note that only certificates issued by these universities for their approved programmes are valid for employment, further studies and other purposes,” the commission said.

Speaking with PREMIUM TIMES, the NUC Director of Information and Public Relations, Ibrahim Yakasai, said all the ‘legal’ universities in Nigeria can actually do post-graduate courses “only after meeting certain criteria and conditions of the commission”.

According to him, the commission must verify that the institutions have adequate resources which include “physical and human resources.”

“All universities can ‘graduate’ to post-graduate but the universities with approval are those that are matured, (who) applied and have met the requirements and they’ve been allowed to do post-graduate. So, we published the names of the universities who have met the conditions,” he said.

BMAS still compulsory. Before a particular programme or school can be approved or accredited according to the NUC, the university must have fulfilled all the requirement in the Benchmark Minimum Academic Standard (BMAS).

BMAS is a document that contains all the minimum requirements before a particular programme or school can be approved or accredited by NUC.

The primary objectives of the commission are to ensure the orderly development of university education in Nigeria, to maintain high standards and ensure adequate funding for them.

Previous Post
Next Post